Etude House: Look at My Eyes (Pearl Shadow Base)

10 Feb

Average retail online: $4.50-$7.50
Store retail: ₩4,500 ($4.10)

Pearl 4

I wanted to try some of Etude House’s basic shadows in the “Look at My Eyes” line. Look at My Eyes has 11 Jewel shades (dry/shimmery), 3 Icing shades (creamy/shimmery), 8 Cafe shades (matte), and at least 16 other new shades.

Pearl 3

Cons
I wish this was a bit more creamy. It’s creamy enough to rub with your fingers, but it’s a bit dry still. After I spread it out, it adds shimmer but doesn’t necessarily leave a good layer for applying shadow on top. If I put this on over my eyeshadow primer (Urban Decay Primer Potion review here), then my eyelids look cakey.

Pros
For the price, I’m happy with the purchase. Recently I haven’t been wanting to go all out with my eye makeup, so I just smear this over my eyelids to give them a radiant glow.  I usually line the corners of my eyes as well, too.

Pear 2

I have Etude House’s Pearl Shadow Base just on the eye on the right.

Pearl 5

Even though it doesn’t create as smooth/vibrant shadow colors as my Urban Decay primer, it still gives that extra smoothness and boost that a less pigmented shadow will need. In the pictures, I put my Etude House, Look at My Eyes Jewel (Ethnic Bronze Bangle) shadow on top. Without the cream base, the shadow looks more transparent.

Pearl 6

Left: Etude’s Look at My Eyes (Ethnic Bronze Bangle) over the Pearl Shadow Base. Right: Just Ethnic Bronze Bangle.

I give this three out of five stars.

Play! Etude
Pearl 2

Take a Look
Here’s my typical eye look using Etude’s bronze shadow with Etude’s shadow base. I also used my Dolly Wink Liquid Eyeliner.

Leave a Reply

