Urban Decay: Eyeshadow Primer Potion (Eden)

3 Feb

Store retail: $20

IMG_7714

This was my first eyeshadow primer. I’m happy with this purchase, although I might buy one of the other shades next time. This primer comes in Eden (nude matte finish), Greed (shimmering yellow-gold), original (nude, dries invisible) and Sin (champagne shimmer).

Cons
Texture/feel: When I apply BB cream, I like to put a little on my eye so it matches. If I put the Urban Decay Primer Potion on top of that and then apply eyeshadow, my eye will look cakey or scaly. Basically, I can’t put BB cream over my eye if I want it to look OK.

Also, I’m not sure what purpose this does, but inside the tube is a layer of oil or some clear liquid. Every time I squeeze the tube, this clear liquid comes out first. I need to carefully squeeze it out, and then I can get the product out. Kind of annoying.

Color/shade: I don’t like the color without any shadow on top. Since I always cover the primer with eyeshadow, of course, this doesn’t matter too much. However, I need to be careful not to get it anywhere where I won’t put eyeshadow. It’s a really light, pasty color. It doesn’t match my skin well.

IMG_7695

Pros
Amount needed: You only need a tiny, tiny drop to cover each eye. I wasted so much product my first few times, because I would squeeze way too much out. The cream is very dense, so a little goes a long way.

Finish/appearance: It was hard to show in the pictures, but the primer really makes your eyeshadow pop. When I don’t use it, the shadow looks more transparent and the edges look more blurred or cloudy. When I use the primer, it gives, bold, sharp eyeshadow. It’s especially useful if you have light shade eyeshadows, as the colors may be hard to see to begin with.

Before

1. Lieole Real Color EyeShadow (25 brown violet), 2 Too Faced (honey pot), 3. Too Faced (velvet revolver), 4. Etude House (ethnic bronze bangle), 5. Too Faced (silk teddy)

After

1. Lieole Real Color EyeShadow (25 brown violet), 2 Too Faced (honey pot), 3. Too Faced (velvet revolver), 4. Etude House (ethnic bronze bangle), 5. Too Faced (silk teddy)

I wanted to share how I apply this, too. I always used my finger, but it was really hard to apply it where I wanted on my tiny eyelid. I had a MAC brush that I hadn’t found a purpose for, then BAM! I realized it was perfect for applying eye primer! It fits on my lid perfectly and follows the crease well. It’s my MAC 282 brush.

MAC 282

I give this four out of five stars.

3 Responses to “Urban Decay: Eyeshadow Primer Potion (Eden)”

  1. addercatter February 3, 2013 at 7:48 AM #

    Great review!

    • katislaterszirom February 3, 2013 at 7:53 AM #

      Thank you! I found a great free photo-editing software that’s super easy to use. Photoscape ^_^

      • addercatter February 3, 2013 at 8:48 AM #

        Ooh I will have to find that and try it out!

Leave a Reply

