Smashbox: Limitless Liquid Liner Pen (Jet Black)

20 Nov

Store retail: $22

I purchased this liner at Sephora when I bought my D.J.V. Beautenizer. Fiberwig LX a while back. I love eyeliner pens–you get the gel eyeliner look with an easy application tip. After using the Japanese-brand K-Palette liner pen, I had high expectations.

Cons

I am not a fan of this tip. It’s fairly hard and not too flexible. The K-Palette, for example, was almost like a calligraphy brush, and the Smashbox tip feels like a stiff sponge.

This contributes to the ink not applying uniformly. If you push to hard or apply the eyeliner at a particular angle, it will leave the edges of the line darker than the center. Please see the image below to see what I mean. 

Please click on the photo to see details! Notice how the Smashbox liner has darker edges (the pressure of applying the tip causes the liner to distribute uneven.

Because of this, I always go over the Smashbox liner with my Lioele Glittering Jewel Liner (black). This helps soften the edges and makes the liner look evenly colored and bold. The Lioele liner also gives the finished look a matte appearance.

Smashbox Limitless Liquid Liner Pen (Ink Black) only.

Pros

This liner completely dries in about 5 seconds–you can swipe it with your finger and it won’t smudge.

If the ink didn’t distribute uneven, I would really like the color. The ink is dark black. It looks somewhat glossy when you apply it (versus a matte finish).

Smashbox Limitless Liquid Liner Pen (Ink Black) only.

I give this two and a half out of five stars.

Compared to other products for the same price/cheaper, I wouldn’t buy this again.

Leave a Reply

