NYX: Soft Matte Lip Cream (Tokyo)

25 Mar

I love matte nail polish and makeup. It gives you a soft look that’s so cute! This lip cream “is not lipstick, nor is it lipgloss.” The lip creams come in 11 shades. I bought “Tokyo.”

NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream comes in a little tube with a nice spongy applicator.

Here is a swatch of the NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream (Tokyo) on my hand.

Cons
The obvious fault of this lip cream is that it can look cake-y and show major imperfections in your lips. Definitely a major drawback. I knew this problem when I bought it from reading other reviews, but it is such a pretty color that I wanted to try it for myself. The trick is to moisturize and prep your lips well! I use my Dolly Wink lip balm and then use my Sana lip concealer — then I apply the lip cream.

Another issue is it kind make your lips feel a bit dry, but just put some lip balm on top. I don’t think you can wear a matte lip cream and have it be really moisturizing on its own.

My lips before applying the NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream. It’s important to make sure your lips are prepped well. I used my Dolly Wink lip balm and then my Sana lip concealer before applying the lip cream.

After I prepped my lips, I applied the NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream (Tokyo).

Pros
This is a very pretty, soft pink color. I love it! I also love the way the matte color looks. As long as your lips don’t look cakey, it looks nice. It also smells really good! It smells like cake/cupcake batter ^^ I know this smell because I’ve bought cake batter lotion, and it smells just like it. So delicious!

I really want to rate this better, and I still use it a lot, but I know there has to be much better products out there. So I don’t feel like I can rate it really good. I need to find some other matte lip products to try out!

I give this two and one half out of five stars.

For a better alternative to this product, check out my review of Skin Food’s Lip & Cheek.

Leave a Reply

